What do the checkmarks mean?
WhatsApp have a unique way to show you if the message that you have sent have been received and read on the other half of the chat members. When you install the WhatsApp application and create your WhatsApp account, this feature is set active automatically and all your contacts will receive the sent and read receipts, and the checkmarks will appear on each message that you sent.
But if you or you WhatsApp contact do not want that WhatsApp inform to the other person if I had read the message, you can always deactivate this feature, but remember if you deactivate this feature the other person will not be able to receive the read receipts but you will not be able to see any of your contacts read receipts and vice versa, if you friend deactivate the read receipts you will not be able to see if your contact have already seen the message but he will not be able to see if you have already seen the message, this means that deactivating this feature applies to both ways, and you should also know that deactivating this feature it only applies for one on one chats, in a group chat is not possible to deactivate this feature.
WhatsApp have 3 different types of checkmarks, when you enter to the chat and you see only one gray check mark it means that your messages have been sent to your contact but he hasn’t receive it. When you see two gray checkmarks it means that your message has been delivered to your contact’s WhatsApp account but he hasn’t read it and when you see two blue checkmarks it means that your contact has already seen the message.
To check this read receipts, just follow the next steps:
1. Go to the WhatsApp application and open it by tapping on it
2. Once you have opened WhatsApp app, you will see some menu tabs at the bottom, go to chat tab that it is located at the bottom of the app, the second tab from the right to left and tap on it
3. Once you enter to the “Chats” window, you will seeall the chats that you have open with your WhatsApp contacts or the group chats, go to the chat of the person you want to know if already has seen the message and tap on it
4. Once you have tapped on the chat that you have open with a WhatsApp contact, go to the message that you have sent to that WhatsApp user and check for the checkmark, this checkmark is located at the bottom right corner of the message next to the hour that you have sent the message. In this case there is only one checkmark which means that the message have been send to the WhatsApp Tutorial contact but he has not received it yet.
5. When you see a second gray check mark appear it means that he has received the message but he has not seen it yet
6. When you see a the two gray check mark turn blue it means that he has already seen the message