IPv4 Address Classes

Related: 192.168.l.l Or 192.168 ll IP Confusion with

The Internet Protocol Version 4 (IPv4) is one of the major protocols that is used to route the internet traffic. It is a wireless internet protocol utilized on packet-switched systems and works with a model that ensures the data is safely delivered. IPv4 itself does not guarantee a safe delivery of the packets to their destinations.

It doesn’t prevent a duplicate delivery and assurance of a better sequencing. All these actions are performed by the Transmission Control Protocol which is the top layer transport protocol.

Representation of the IPv4 addresses is usually performed on a notation that conveys an integer value of a 32-bit address. It is usually expressed by use of dot-decimals notations.

The IPv4 classes

There are a variety of classes of the internet protocol addresses that can be used depending on the different demands of the hosts on each network. The IPv4 addressing system is comprised of five classes. It usually contains four octets which are separated by the decimals.

The initial internet protocol during calculation of the hosts’ IP addresses is the network number whereas the last address is usually reserved for future use as a Broadcast internet protocol.

Class A Addresses

They initial octet is usually reserved as zero and most of the class A addresses are utilized for large networks. The identification of the network is characterized by the first octet while the host in the specific network is identified by the remaining three octets.

Related: IP Address Confusion with 192.168.l.254 or 192.168 l 254

Unique IPv4 addresses are not essential for a computer system that is not connected to the internet directly. is a class A network used in most organizations and is always reserved for future use.

Class B Addresses

These are used for networks of a medium size and the initial octet is usually denoted by ten ’10 ’. The network identification is characterized by the first two octets while the host in the specific network is determined by the last two octets.

Class C Addresses

They are used majorly for business within the range of small to medium sizes. This class of the IPv4 address has the initial octet denoted by ‘110’. Identification of the network is characterized by the first three octets while the other octet defines the host in the specific network system. The private addresses in Class C range of to and are reserved for future use.

Class D Addresses

This class of the IPv4 addresses is usually termed as multicast. It is an approach that is used to transmit data without duplication of the packets from one device to several other devices. The initial octet of is denoted by ‘1110’ while the remaining twenty eight are used to determine the host computers for which the message is to be transmitted.

The process of multicasting entails transmission of a single packet from the origin to the destination and replication occurs depending on the network so that it can reach a variety of end users.

Class E Addresses

The first octet is characterized by four bits denoted as ‘1111’. This class of the IPv4 address cannot be allocated to any devices because they are only meant for experimentation purposes.

Related: (Default Gateway) and Login